Recap/Healthy Stir Fry Recipe

Heeeeeelllllloooooooo

image

I hope you read that “hello” in a Mrs. Doubtfire voice. 😉 How are you all!? If you’re already a reader, welcome back to my blog–and thank you for coming back, and if not? WELCOME FRIEND. 😀 So..I’m not sure I’m ever going to come back from how awesome my last post was. Emily is so rad that I got the most readers I’ve gotten since I posted that Jimbo joined the Army! 

Thank you again, to each and every one of you who read that piece. I am extremely proud of it, and of my subject. Thank you so much again, Em for being so candid with me, and allowing me to share your story.

So, lets recap! I feel like I haven’t done one of these in a while, and I’m sorry if this post is too wordy. But whatevs.

Lets see….in case you aren’t a Facebook friend of mine, I’ll share with you some exciting news about Jimbo–he is now officially PV2 and is able to wear his rank on his uniform!! He walked into our house with this sh** eating grin on his face, and told me the news. I am soo, so happy and proud. It has been nothing but a pleasure to watch you grow into a confident man, and soldier Jimmy. I love you so much. ❤

image

This past week has been pretty mundane. I’ve been trying really hard to get back into not only eating healthy, but just eating at home. It’s good for the body, and the wallet. &When I’m cooking for us–I always tend to eat healthier. So that’s a bonus.

imageimage

&I got this super cute little white board at the Dollar Spot at Target, and it’s been helping me plan out dinners, and stick to cooking!

image

Last Wednesday I made a healthy stir fry, and I’ll share that recipe at the end of the post 🙂

image

Thursday we had an unseasonably warm day up here in NY, and I was all excited to go for a nice longggg walk, and cook up some healthy burgers and veggies for dinner for Jimbo and I, but he ended up staying late at work.

image

I got super lazy, so I stayed in and opened all the windows, and chilled on the couch, watching one of my all time favs, Sweet Home Alabama. It never fails to make me want to move south.

image

Jim had a four day weekend, and we hung out with one of our besties. Friday night we had Taco Bell, and went bowling on post!

image

I tried the Quesalupa, and it was actually REALLY good. haha

imageimageimage

Bowling was interesting. It was my first time “real bowling.” For those of my non-New England readers; We only have candle pin bowling back home. Smaller balls, and less pins. &Its way easier! I couldn’t figure out how to bowl the ball properly for a while, so I was bowling like this…

image

I was driving the guys INSANE with this app I found called TouchTunes. It’s actually really cool. It works the Juke Boxes in tons of locations (bars, restaurants, bowling alleys) and it will tell you the ones near you. You can chose the songs that play, see whats next, and basically what I’m getting at–is the fact that I tortured all of the bowling soldiers with Taylor Swift. 😉

I realized half way through bowling that I hadn’t drank ANY water all day! I’ve been way over on my caffeine intake, and wayyyy bad with water.

image

But I actually didn’t like this water…it had a weird taste to me. Am I the only one that thinks not all water tastes the same?

On Saturday, my door hanger was delivered!

imageimage

It’s so adorable!! I was looking for something with a summery feel for the months ahead. I had this custom made from Jessica Sanders Keel. She was awesome. Quick with communication, and kept me in the loop! A new fav Etsy shop for me!

Also got a vanilla dip donut from Timmy Hortons, and made those burgers. So, happy day 🙂

imageimage

&Yesterday Jimmy and I went on a date night! Got a little fancy, grabbed some Starbucks, did some shopping and saw a movie!

imageimageimageimageimageimageimage

I LOVE Starbucks. That might sound strange coming from this Dunkin’s girl. But I do have a soft spot for the Teavanna teas, and the good that our local Starbucks does, like sending coffee to the troops overseas. ❤


HEALTHY STIR FRY

Ingredients:

image

-cooking spray

-1 tablespoon of olive oil

-1 lb of boneless chicken breast cut into small pieces

-2 cups of chopped onion

-2 cups of broccoli

-2 cups of zucchini (not in photo whoops..)

-1 cup of red bell pepper

-2 tablespoons of water

-1/2 bag of cabbage

Sauce ingredients:

-1/4 cup of low sodium soy sauce

-2 tablespoons of Hoisin sauce

-2 tablespoons of rice vinegar

-1 tablespoon of olive oil

-1 tablespoon of brown sugar

—–

  1. Prep all veggies and chop up the chicken
  2. Add all sauce ingredients together in a bowl, and set aside

3. In a large pan, coat with cooking spray, and toss in chicken, stirring often, and cooking until white all the way through. Once cooked, set aside on a plate

imageimage

Oops. Burnt some a little…

4. Coat the pan with more cooking spray, and heat one tablespoon of oil. Add in the onions, broccoli, zucchini, red bell peppers and water. Sauté over med-high heat for 3-5 min until broccoli is soft. Add the cabbage, and sauté for another 2 min or until cabbage is soft.

imageimage

5. Turn down to medium heat, add cooked chicken and sauce cook for about 2 more min until heated all the way through, and stir consistently to blend it all together

imageimage

& Voila! Jimmy loved it too, and he’s my picky eater–and we had lots of leftovers for lunch!

imageimage

HOTTIE ALERT ^^^

“Don’t chase love, money or success. Become the best version of yourself, and those things will chase you.”

//xo

PS- I had the sad realization yesterday that I haven’t read a book in over a month. Does anyone have any good book suggestions? Leave them in the comments! I’m a huge romance, biography, and teen fiction novel fan (I’m a loser I know) but I’m open for anything!

 

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS

Instagram- autumn_benson

Twitter- autumnforever12

Pinterest- autumnbenson13

SNAPCHAT- autumn_benson13

2 thoughts on “Recap/Healthy Stir Fry Recipe

Leave a Reply

