Walnut and Apple Coffee Cake

Hello everyone!

Welcome to, or welcome back to my blog! I’m really excited to be sharing my first recipe post! As you know from my Fall Favorites post, I’ve been loving all things Fall. I’ve already whipped out the plaid, my blanket scarfs and my tall boots. I’ve been dawning my purple hues of lipstick….and…wait for it…..I WENT IN FOR THE KILL AND DYED MY HAIR!!! If you’ve been following me on Insta, Twitter, or are friends with me on Facebook, you’ve seen the selfies. But here is another:

Brown hair

If you’re ever in the North Shore area of MA, you’ve got to stop by Valarie’s Hair Studio on Pine Street in Danvers. She is incredible at what she does, affordable, and she never fails to remind me, that she’s in the beauty industry to make me look beautiful. 🙂

Alright! Now that I’ve shown off yet another selfie of my dark locks…lets get into the real purpose of this article. After apple picking, at Russell Orchards, I really was in the mood to bake. I just wanted to fill Jim’s parents house with delicious smells, and have something super yummy to eat. After searching on Pinterest for something other than apple pie, or apple crisp, I came across an article from ellainspired.com and off to work I went!

So, there’s three parts to the ingredients list. There are ingredients for the physical cake, the topping, and the icing. Don’t confuse them (like I did!!!) and put the wrong amounts into the wrong bowls!

Ingrediants

INGREDIENTS FOR CAKE: *I used a greased bundt cake mold to bake it in.

1/4 cup of oil

1 egg

1/2 cup of milk

1 1/2 cups of flour

3/4 cups of sugar (you can replace this with Stevia or honey if you’d like)

2 teaspoons of baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of vanilla

*I used some super cheap Dollar Tree vanilla, and it tasted great!

3/4 cups of chopped apples

*I used Courtland that I had picked up at the orchard

INGREDIENTS FOR THE TOPPING

1/2 cup of brown sugar

2 tablespoons of flour

2 teaspoons of cinnamon

*I used an entire tablespoon…..I like cinnamon. 🙂

2 tablespoons of melted butter

1/2 cup of walnuts

*I did a whole cup…oops

ICING DRIZZLE

(I had no idea this would really make icing, and I was geeking out!)

3/4 cups of powdered sugar

1 tablespoon of milk

*Add larger portions for more icing

Icing

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Mix together from the cake ingredients list, the flour, sugar*, baking powder and salt.

In a separate bowl mix the oil, egg, vanilla and milk.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet mixture.

Add the chopped apples, and pour into the greased bundt cake mold.

Jimmy chopping apples

Jimmy took over when it came time to chop. He said I was doing it wrong…oops.

In another small bowl mix together all ingredients for the topping. Then sprinkle it evenly over the cake mixture, and press some of it into the middle of the batter.

Bake it for 25 minutes, or until the toothpick comes out clean.

While it’s baking, mix together the icing ingredients, using as much or as little as you need.

Once the cake has cooled a little, pour the icing on, and enjoy!

cake

What should I bake next!? Tweet me ideas!

Be my friend!

Instagram- autumn_benson

Twitter- autumnforever12

Pinterest- autumnbenson13

&SNAPCHAT!- autumn_benson13

“Fall has always been my favorite season. The time when everything bursts with its last beauty, as if nature has been saving up all year for it’s grand finale.”-Lauren DeStefano

//xo

2 thoughts on “Walnut and Apple Coffee Cake

Leave a Reply

