Weekend Recap

Hey guys! I had SO MUCH FUN this weekend. There are a lot of changes that are about to happen in my personal life, and I’ll let you all in on that soon! But for now I’ve just been trying to have as much fun as possible, and spend lots of time with friends and family, and I’m just SO EXCITED! This weekend was full of beautiful Indian Summer weather, and I just had so much fun.

Friday night I headed out with my boyfriend’s little sister for her bachelorette. We went to a place called the Lawn On D in South Boston to start off. If you’re ever in the area, YOU HAVE TO GO. There was free parking, but not many spots open, so I would suggest taking public transit. I’m most definitely going to be taking another trip up with some friends in a few weeks. It’s literally just a huge lawn. They have live music there, and swings in the shape of rings that glow in the dark. I’m such a dork, I thought it was so cool. &They have corn hole, ping pong tables, food trucks. It’s seriously so cool, and other than of course the food–its all free! &Free, is for me! 😉 After that we just headed on over to Fire and Ice. It’s a really cool restaurant, that you pick all of your ingredients from the “ice” side and bring your food over to a grille, where they cook it up for you. The chefs are usually pretty entertaining, and do tricks with the food. They’re just super high energy. It’s almost like a hibachi restaurant, but you can make almost ANY thing you could think of. They have tons of ethnic choices as well.

image

Saturday morning I headed to work, and saying I was exhausted was an understatement. But two Dunk’s iced coffees later, I was human again. After work, I headed into my hometown to my Momma’s house, and showered, and let her style me. It was nice to have a day with her. It felt like I was 17 again. Jimmy came down and we went out for the evening with my Mom, her boyfriend, and his sister and brother in law. They’re an awesome group.

We headed to the Seaport Grille. My picky Mom had a salad, and although I’m not a fan of seafood, my Mom’s boyfriend Farrell, and his sister and brother in law shared two HUGE seafood platters, and said they were to die for. Jim and I got  “Sully’s Burger” and it was absolutely delicious. Not your average restaurant burger, and the buns were fluffy and warm. The Seaport Grille isn’t just good food, the atmosphere is incredible too. They have an outdoor eating area, but inside had a little less of a wait. The owners of the Seaport also own a yacht, called the Beauport Princess. It is absolutely GORGEOUS. You can rent it for special events, weddings..and they also do dinner cruises, and my family and I are hoping to take one soon!

image

After dinner we headed to the Gloucester Cinema. The theater I went to as a kid. I even went there for my first date, where my Dad (who had dropped us off) showed up, and sat behind us. It was so fun going back there with Jimmy, and seeing the theater. It hasn’t changed a bit. We saw Black Mass. The theater was packed. Of course the movie was HUGE in this area, where the main character is based on James “Whitey” Bulger–a notorious Irish mob boss from the Winter Hill gang in Boston. The movie was incredible, and per usual, Johnny Depp was unrecognizable, as he immersed himself into the sinister character that is Jimmy Bulger.

(Boston, MA, 05/27/14) Johnny Depp plays the part of Whitey Bulger in the movie production of Black Mass while shooting a scene in East Boston on Tuesday, May 27, 2014. Staff photo by Christopher Evans.

The next morning Jim and I went for a traditional Dunks run and ride around the backshore. On the ride my brother Kyle called me and invited us to go watch the Pats vs Bills came with him at The Studio. We took the boat for a cruise around the harbor, and docked outside. We sat out on the deck, and the weather was absolutely gorgeous. Perfect breeze, sunshine. We had a drink, and ordered a bacon flatbread pizza. It was super good–but it did take about an hour before they delivered it to us. It was okay though, since we were all distracted by the game and chitchatting with friends.

image

After lunch Jim and I had Momma B pick us up at the restaurant, and rushed home to get ready–and headed to one of the places from the Fall Favorites post, Russell Orchards. We met up there with one of my best friends, Alexandra and a friend of hers, and got some apples to bake with, and took some typical photos. It was so nice to spend some time with her. She’s my best friend, since we were 11 and 13 years old.

image

&To finish off an excellent weekend, after having dinner with his family–delicious meatball subs made by his Momma!–we baked some apple, walnut coffee cake! It came out AMAZING and made the whole kitchen smell like Fall wonderland. Stay tuned for a recipe!

image

Tell me what you did this weekend in the comments! (I’m nosey!)

Stay connected!

Instagram- autumn_benson

Twitter- autumnforever12

Pinterest- autumnbenson13

&SNAPCHAT!- autumn_benson13

“Home is where love resides, memories are created, family and friends always belong, and laughter is forever shared.”

//xo

Leave a Reply

