My 1989 World Tour Experience

Hellooo everyone! Welcome back! I was so excited when I saw the stats from my last post, that so many of you came back to read my ramblings, and I saw many new viewers came to visit from Instagram etc! SO, hopefully this post will be a good one for any of my fellow Swifties to read, and any other Taylor Swift fans who were unable to attend. I hope those of you who followed me on Snap Chat prior to the day, enjoyed my ridiculous Snaps. I’ve been having so much fun with that app–and I do apologize for the lack of Snaps after Tay came to the stage–but I was just so immersed in the show, that it was hard to focus on anything more.

I attended the 1989 World Tour in Foxborough Ma on Friday, July 24, 2015. It was a magical event. Weeks before the day I planned out our costumes, and poster, and I will post a DIY on them as my next blog post. My apartment was an explosion of glitter, and bursting with all eras of Taylor sounds while I worked. After hours on end, of burning my fingers off with hot glue, and ripping my thumb apart putting holes in my poster for the LED lights, the day finally arrived.

image1

I spent the morning FREAKING THE HECK OUT..getting myself ready, and singing into my curling rod, and the drive there was full of traffic, and listening to every era of Tay.

Jimmy and I arrived to Gillette nice and early, and parked a good distance away to save on parking. As soon as we got there, I forced Jim into his barista costume, and we taped the battery packs onto the back of the poster. It was in the high 80s and my giant felt covered laundry basket caused me to sweat profusely, but it was so worth it. So, the concept behind our “Starbucks Lovers” costumes, was from the song Blank Space. The line “got a long list of ex lovers, they’ll tell you I’m insane.” is often confused with, “all the lonely Starbucks lovers,” or “gotta love them Starbucks lovers, they’ll tell you I’m insane.” So, Jimmy was a barista, and I was a Frappuccino. Even my nails had a 13 and a mini Frappuccino painted on to them, thanks to Aly at Colorful Nails in Salem, MA.

Walking around Gillette, there were so many others in AMAZING costumes. Some cheerleaders from the Shake it Off video, and some awesome ones, I saw, there two ladies dressed up as Tay’s cats, Dr. Meredith Grey and Detective Olivia Benson, and some other cuties, who got into Loft 89 dressed up as the “Swan Squad.” CONGRATS BTW LADIES!…if you ever read this….haha We were stopped countless times to take photos with people, and we were featured on some random fans Snap Stories, and Country 102.5 took our photo!

image1.PNG

It began to rain, and I was a little nervous where my costume was covered in felt, and I didn’t cover our paper “Starbucks Lovers” logos in anything. BUT- I was extremely excited to experience a RAIN SHOW. The rain did end up stopping well before the concert began.

Now for the bad news and advice for anyone who has purchased floor seats for the 1989 World Tour (now this may only be Gillette Stadiums policies, but apparently a guard had told some other girls that it came directly from Taylor’s management team) As we were about to enter the stadium, we were told our poster could not be any larger than a small piece of paper as we were sitting on the floor (which makes sense) but was frustrating after all the hard work I put in. You’d think with all the Swiftie accounts I follow on Instagram, I would’ve heard about this, but at the Red Tour, there were no such rules. After we had walked back to our far away lot, and went to get into the stadium for the second time, I was told by a female guard, that my costume was not allowed. If you’re wondering if I cried, the answer is yes. It was also extremely frustrating, that when we were told no to the poster, nobody had said a thing about the costume. Although, it again, does make perfect sense, because of the size around. Thankfully, right across from Gillette, a very kind gentlemen who was selling t shirts allowed me to place my costume in his car, so we would not have to walk all the way back to our vehicle again, and held it for us until we came out of the stadium. &I stole Jimmy’s costume…I don’t think he minded..

image1-2

We saw a few posters on the floor and costumes that somehow got past security, and I’m assuming it’s because they entered from the balcony entrances.

Also!!! I had a lot of fun chatting with fellow Swifties that were going that night, and even met the adorable Miss Kat. AKA sinkshipsallthedamntime

Once Shawn Mendes came on the stage, I was fully recovered from my defeat, and ready to have an amazing night. His own music was beautifully played, and being at the Red Tour, and Club Red with my best friend Mariah, hearing his tribute to Ed Sheeran was like reliving the moment, and although I sadly wasn’t with Mariah, I was lucky to have this goofball by my side. Vance Joy was incredible and by far, Jimmy was his number one fan in the crowd. Although, he’s no die hard Swiftie, he does like Taylor. But I’m glad he really enjoyed the opening acts. &Then lets talk about HAIM. O M G. Those are some BAD A** ladies! Like WOW! I feel so incredibly lucky and blessed to have seen them live, and been exposed to their sound. I am now a fan for life. They are amazing! &Its also uncanny how much my mother looks like she belongs with them. I wish I could’ve found a photo from when she was a teenager. She even wore her hair the same, and looked like Este’s twin.

image1-3

I have to admit, for the second time seeing her, the moment Taylor emerged on the stage, singing “Welcome to New York” (the only girl who could ever sing about New York in Boston, and its acceptable) I CRIED. It’s hard to explain to a non Swiftie. When you’ve idolized someone from such a young age, and appreciated their art for so long, its hard not to lose it when you’re only yards away from that person. The show, although I feel a little less theatrical than Red, was insane. Totally, exactly what I pictured for 1989. We were given magical wrist bands as we entered, (“A gift from Taylor”) that lit up the entire stadium in sync with the music, and it was beautiful and magical and wonderus. (I know, not a word.) Those dancers and back up singers…words can not describe the talent. The costumes were absolutely unforgettable. &The speech everyone wanted to hear was delivered as Tay hovered above us like an angel sent from the Heavens, again, moved me to tears. She spoke of female empowerment, and how commendable she saw it that each and every one of us, fight a battle others don’t see–yet we still chose to live our lives. As soon as she mentioned losing someone, I lost it. When meeting Taylor at Club Red, we discussed my Dad, who passed in 2011, and how her music brought the two of us together. He tried to explain to me for so long, about the importance of music, and lyrics, and respecting the art. &When I fell for Taylor and her writing, and sound–my Father deemed her a legend for my generation. I used to sit in my computer room all growing up memorizing her songs, and inviting my parents up to watch me perform them…anyways side tracking…

1937399_1208507209684_2461586_n

Every song and performance was beautiful, and enchanting, and absolutely unforgettable. Dancing and jumping around to special guest, Walk The Moon, “Shut Up and Dance”, which is my 2015 Summer Anthem, was insane. &After Shake it Off was preformed on the runway, and everyone took their bows, I had goose bumps, and could not believe that the event I had waited since last Fall for, was over.

It took us two ours to get out of the parking lot, and two days (one of them spent sleeping till 5pm..(Grandma and Grandpa over here) to recover…but it was so worth it.

Taylor, you are an insanely talented artist, incredibly intelligent business woman, and beautiful human being. I can not wait to see what comes next for you, and I feel so blessed to have followed your journey.

So, that’s it! It’s all over for me! Next tour I will most definitely purchase tickets for both nights, and a room, and I will plan my poster and costumes accordingly. I hope everyone attending the next stops have the time of their lives. &Look for a DIY poster and costume post coming up soon! I love you I love you I love you!

“Maybe you lost someone you never expected you would lose. Maybe you lost yourself. That’s even worse. When you have bad days that just wont let up, I just hope that you will look in the mirror and remind yourself of what you are and what you are not. You are not your mistakes. You are not damaged goods from money lost or from your failed explorations. You are not the opinion of someone who doesn’t know you. You are a product of the lessons that you’ve learned. You are wiser because you went through something terrible. And you are the person who survived a bunch of rainstorms and kept walking. I now believe that pain makes you stronger. And now I believe that walking through a lot of rainstorms gets you….CLEAN.”- Taylor Swift

Let’s be friends…I’m dying to see how this one ends;)

INSTAGRAM autumn_benson

TWITTER autumnforever12

PINTEREST autumnbenson13

& SNAPCHAT autumn_benson13

//xo

One thought on “My 1989 World Tour Experience

Leave a Reply

